Training during Chaos

I am 6 weeks out to my first 50 miler. To be honest, I’m not nearly as ready right now as I was hoping to be. Life has been nothing short of chaotic lately (mothering 3 special needs kiddos ain’t a stroll in the park, btw!)

Hospital, doctor, and therapy appointments that are never ending, extracurricular activities galore and well…just life stuff…has greatly interfered with my training. So I’m relying less and less on my training plan and leaning more on my own experience and trusting that I know my body best.

With that said, I’ve been building volume during the weekdays and extending my long runs and back to back long runs on the weekends. I’m feeling strong, my speed has increased and my endurance is building. I’m hoping I’ll be ready in June for my 50 miler. I don’t want to just survive it, I really want to rock it out!

So here are some of the things I’ve been up to these past couple of weeks. Cheers to some solid training in the weeks to come! I’m trying not to stress over things I cannot control… and reminding myself that I’m doing this because I just love it so darn much. Even if I end up DFL, it’ll be with a smile on my face!

Rock and Row Triathlon:

Lots of running by in the rain lately:

Got a solid long run in this past weekend, so I was pretty happy:

Bouldering league wrapped up, meaning more time for running now 😁

2 thoughts on “Training during Chaos

Leave a comment